

ASSOCIATION OF PAST EMPLOYEES OF SINGER

MINUTES OF THE 21ST ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING HELD ON SUNDAY 20TH FEBRUARY 2022 AT 11.00 AM AT THE JANAKI HOTEL, COLOMBO 5

The meeting was called to order by the President at 11.00 am At the commencement of the meeting, the members were called upon to observe two minutes of silence by the President, for the members who had departed since the last AGM which was held on 15th December 2019.

President specifically mentioned about late Mr. Bertie Fernando, the great gentlemen who led and inspired us as the President of our Association for the period of over 20 years. He was there since the inception in year 2000 till he passed away in December 2020. President confirmed personally how deep he was attached to Singer and as well as for this association.

President next mentioned about another veteran, Mr. A M M Nissar, a pioneer member of the association. He served as the Treasurer of the association for the longest time and attended to all financial matters. He also has served over 20 years.

Next, he mentioned the passing away of Mrs. Vijitha Jayawardhana yet another Singer veteran who was the general secretary of the association for nearly 15 years, before she retired due to ill health.

Mr. Ranjith David, another dedicated and loyal personality who served the executive committee for over 10 years. Mr. David was an active member of the Social & Entertainment Committee of the association.

The other members who have departed us from the association, who served the company with loyalty are, Aditya de Silva, J W Dickman, K R P Liyanage, M H M Neuman, A J Pigera and Keerthi Weraniyagoda.

Welcome address by the Acting President

The Acting President said that he is very happy to welcome all the members who had present today. He further said that he is very much happy to notice that we have the highest attendance of the membership, over 100 members today, despite of the present situation of the country.

The Chairman of Singer & Heyleys Group, Mr. Mohan Pandithage and Mr. Mahesh Wijewardhana, the CEO of Singer (Sri Lanka) were expected to be present. The President welcomed all the directors who were present for the AGM. He thanked all three companies, Singer Sri Lanka PLC, Regnis Lanka Ltd. and Singer Industries Ceylon Ltd., for the valuable annual grant.

Membership Drive

The President specifically mentioned about the membership increase which he was very happy to announce. He made it a point to give his special thanks to the Vice President Mr. Russell De La Motte and the Treasurer, Mr. Nassar Majeed for their support.

History of the association

The president explained about the history of the association as requested by few members through the WhatsApp group. We were having lot of meetings, get-togethers and benevolent fund, scholarship fund for the benefit of the membership and the society. However, during the last couple years, we were unable to have any events due to the situation of the country. He further said that during the next couple of months, we should be able to have the normal functions of the association.

He thanked all the members of the Executive Committee of the association who had been giving a dedicated service throughout the year. Special thanks to the Treasurer Mr. Nasser Majeed and Assistant Treasurer, Mr. Subair Hassan for the excellent services given for financial matters of the association. He thanked Ms. Judith Vannithamby for the dedicated services extended. He made it sure to thank all the generous donors of the raffle tickets prizes, led by Mr. Subair Hassan, Channa Pathirana, Samitha Perera, Mrs. Keerthi Wljekulasuriya & Mr. J Saddique. He gave his special thanks to veteran Mr. Gamini Wasalathantri, who had been working as the editor of the newsletter of the association in spite of his health conditions, and wished him good health throughout.

The minutes of the previous Annual General Meeting

The minutes of the last annual General Meeting was read by the Secretary. As the minutes were in order, the adoption of the minutes was proposed by Mr. T V Perera and seconded by Mr. P Shivaji.

Annual Statement of Accounts

The adoption of the Statement of Accounts was proposed by Mr. Kumar Samarasinghe and seconded by Mr. P Shivaji.

The resolutions

A resolution to increase the number of members of the Executive Committee was proposed and it was decided by the membership to discuss same at a future date.

Election of Office Bearers

The president announced to appoint a Pro-Tem Chairman to carry out the election of the Office Bearers. Mr. Asita Abayasekara's name has been proposed as the Pro-tem Charmain.

President - Pro-tem Chairman, Mr. Asita Abayasekara

proposed the name of Mr. Nelson Mendis as the President of the Association for the coming year

2022.

The President announced that the following members of the Executive Committee will remain for the incoming year.

Vice President - Mr. Kumar Samarasinghe &

Mr. Russell De La Motte

Asst. Secretary - Ms. Kaushalya Murugadasan

Treasurer - Mr. Nassar Majeed

Asst. Treasurer - Mr. Subair Hassan

The Committee members - Mr. Gamini Wasalathantri

Mr. Lashantha Perera

Mr. Ruwan Kasthuriarachchi

Mr. Damith Jayasena Mrs. Judith Vannithamby Mr. Manjula Wijemanne Mrs. Keerthi Wijekulasuriya

The following two positions were proposed & seconded as follows:

General Secretary - Mrs. Nilanthi Palihawadana

Proposed by Mr. Manjula Wijemanne &

Seconded by Mrs. Varuni Sagarika

8th Committee Member - Mrs. Sriyani Weerasinghe

Proposed by Mr. Manjula Wijemanna &

Seconded by Mr. Sujith Ariyapala

Hony Auditor

The President, proposed the name of Mr. Priyath Salgado who was the Hony Auditor for the previous year. He had done tremendous job to the association throughout the period.

President's Address

The President informed that it is the customary procedure to address the members before conclude the AGM. Since he has already spoken, he did not want to speak in length. But he wanted to congratulate all the members including the new members and hope that they will give their fullest support to the committee.

In conclusion, the President conveyed his wishes to all the members and their families, Good Health and Happiness throughout the year and invited everyone to join the fellowship and lunch.

The meeting concluded at 12.30 pm	
Hony. President	Hony. Secretary

20th February 2022

8th Committee Member

- Mrs. Sriyani Weerasinghe
Proposed by Mr. Manjula Wijemanna &

Seconded by Mr. Sujith Ariyapala

Hony Auditor

The President, proposed the name of Mr. Priyath Salgado who was the Hony Auditor for the previous year. He had done tremendous job to the association throughout the period.

President's Address

The President informed that it is the customary procedure to address the members before conclude the AGM. Since he has already spoken, he did not want to speak in length. But he wanted to congratulate all the members including the new members and hope that they will give their fullest support to the committee.

In conclusion, the President conveyed his wishes to all the members and their families, Good Health and Happiness throughout the year and invited everyone to join the fellowship and lunch.

The meeting concluded at 12.30 pm

Hony. President	Hony. Secretary
Nohm / Dr.	

20th February 2022